Red Bull Hardline 2019 – First Riders Announced

The most demanding downhill race returns on the 14th-15th September, the first wave of riders have been announced, including 3 former winners.

Riders waiting at the start line of this years Hardline, eager to see where they place.

Riders from the world’s top downhill teams will be heading to the hills of Wales, including Atherton Racing, Scott Downhill Factory, Trek, Hope Technology, Pivot Factory Racing and MS Mondraker.

The first riders for the 2019 edition of Red Bull Hardline have been announced and with three past winners set to compete, this could be the most nail-biting edition to date. More names will be announced in the coming weeks with 30 riders expected to head to the event and take on one of the toughest downhill mountain bike races on the planet. 

There are nine British riders included in the line up so far. 2018 winner Gee Atherton, will be returning with the hope of reclaiming his title before he heads to the United States to take part in Red Bull Rampage. 

The Step up from 2018 – Red Bull Estimate riders need to be travelling at 40mph to make the jump

2017 winner Craig Evans is back having missed out on the finals last year after a qualifying session in very wet conditions. Also named is Bernard Kerr, 2016 winner and 2017 runner up. The full rider list can be found here.

The sixth edition of the toughest downhill mountain bike race in the world, Red Bull Hardline, will take place across the weekend of the 14th-15th September. This year, tickets are available for the Saturday open practice session and qualifying. Finals will take place on Sunday. A huge screen will be in the event village for the public to watch the race on both Saturday and Sunday. All the action, both Saturday’s qualifying and Sunday’s final will be available to watch live at You can watch the 2018 POV course preview Here.

Riders Announced So Far!

Gee Atherton (Atherton bikes)
UCI Rank: 16,
Hardline History: Winner 2018

Dan Atherton (Atherton bikes)
UCI Rank: N/A,
Hardline History: Hardline creator, 3rd 2017, 13th 2016, 2nd 2014

Brendan Fairclough (Scott downhill factory)
UCI Rank: 68
Hardline History: DNQ 2018

Laurie Greenland (MS Mondraker)
UCI Rank: 6
Hardline History: 9th 2018, 4th 2017

Brook McDonald (Team: MS Mondraker)
UCI Rank: 7
Hardline History: 10th 2016

Charlie Hatton (Atherton bikes)
UCI Rank: 32
Hardline History: 3rd 2018

Adam Brayton (Hope Technology)
UCI Rank: 51
Hardline History: 5th 2017, 3rd 2016, 4th 2015

Craig Evans (Team: Santa Cruz free agents)
UCI Rank: N/A
Hardline History: Winner 2017, 6th 2015

Bernard Kerr (Pivot Factory Racing)
UCI Rank: 33
Hardline History: 2nd 2018, 2nd 2017, Winner 2016, 3rd 2015

Brage Vestavik (MS Mondraker)
UCI Rank: 92
Hardline History: 6th 2018

Florent Payet (VoulVoul Racing)
UCI Rank: 57
Hardline History: 7th 2018

Kade Edwards (Trek Factory Racing)
UCI Rank: 61
Hardline History: 10th 2018

Alexandre Fayolle (Polygon UR)
UCI Rank: 69
Hardline History: 5th 2018, 10th 2017

Kaos Seagrave (Transition Bikes/ Muc-Off Factory Racing)
UCI Rank: 380
Hardline History: 7th 2017

Eddie Masters (Pivot Factory Racing)
UCI Rank: 28
Hardline History: 7th 2016

Sunday tickets have now sold out, however tickets for Saturday are available, they are sold per car, for a cost of  £40 + booking fee (max five people per car). In total, 500 tickets per day have been made available. In 2019, spectators will have access to more of the course than in previous years with viewing areas accessible further up the track. 

Gee Atherton crossing the line in 1st place at the 2018 Red Bull Hardline

For more information and to buy tickets please visit and join the conversation @RedBullUK with the hashtag #RedBullHardline.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.